Just another WordPress.com site

altered books

On my way to get a cup of coffee and write yet another psychology paper, I heard on the radio the story of Peter and the Wolf, narrated by Leonard Bernstien and the NY Philharmonic. I got lost in the wonderment. The lush landscapes of the music, the characters, the story telling. This was an aha moment. I want to make stories with the kids in my summer program. Narratives are important ways of processing- they integrate right and left brain functions. Art is one way to build or uncover narratives. Sometimes it is overwhelming to just start with a blank slate and tell your story. It’s hard to tell your story or express yourself to begin with, especially for adolescents! That’s how this idea came about: altered books! From Peter and the Wolf to altered books- there you have it, this is how my mind operates. You never know when you’ll be inspired so keep those eyes and ears and all your senses open to inspiration just waiting to reach you. 

Check out the link above to see some altered books. I’ll be making one and posting soon….

 

Leave a comment